2 April 2024

Head of the River Race

Leander win The Head of the River 2024

In the absence of our international athletes, who are away on camp in preparations for the Olympics, it was an opportunity for our development club-based men to fly the flag for Leander at this year’s HORR. 

This challenge was accepted and Leander ‘A’ comprised of Matt Rowe, Dan Graham, Douwe De Graaf, Sam Bannister, Miles Beeson, Tobias Schröder, Tom Ballinger, James Vogel, and Cox Jack Tottem raced superbly to take the Headship in a new course record of 16:26.7 over a strong Oxford Brookes crew in second place. Leander Club last held the Headship in 2018 when we dead-heated, but you have to go back to 2015 since Leander were outright winners.

Our 2nd and 3rd boats placed 5th and 9th, respectively, containing some scullers and our gap year athletes. 

Men’s Chief Coach, Matt Beechey said: “We are delighted with the results. Winning overall and placing all three boats in the top 10 was the aim. It is also the first time the club has held both the Men’s and Women’s Headships since 2011.”

Focus now goes back to the small boats in preparation for GB Trials at Caversham Lake from 12-14th April.

Pin It on Pinterest