skip to Main Content

Fours Head 2016

Mortlake to Putney, London
12 November 2016

leander-ii-236Leander crews dominated this year’s Fours’ Head on with four crews in the top five on the river. The club’s athletes won five class pennants as well as the overall title, with the leading Leander heavyweight quad crossing the line twelve second clear of second-placed Imperial College.

Miserably cold, wet weather greeted the 450 crews as they contested the traditional 4 ¼ mile Championship Course down the Thames from Mortlake to Putney.

The winning crew had three Olympians on board including Rio finallists John Collins and Jonny Walton as the stern pair. Last minute quad substitute Jack Beaumont occupied the bow seat, with his fellow Henley winner Nick Middleton at 2.

Three more Olympians made a switch from sweep to sculling for the event, with Rio gold medallist Will Satch contesting the second Leander quad with the Stewart Innes and Al Sinclair from the Olympic pair, and U23 sculler Tom Barras.

fours-head-results-2016Their efforts pushed the Leander lightweight quad back into fourth place, but Ed Fisher, Charles Waite-Roberts, Jonny Jackson and Sam Mottram finished comfortably ahead of Bristol University, the only other crew in their status.

Leander also took a win in elite coxless fours, where Barney Stentiford, Callum McBrierty, Jacob and Dawson and Matt Rossiter finished more than twelve seconds clear of Goldie Boat Club, the Cambridge University crew who hope to get selected for next Easter’s Boat Race.

The Leander junior quad put in a powerful performance to finish two seconds clear of Shiplake College and earn the class pennant for Tom Ballinger, Cameron Forsythe, Tom Placidi and Robbie Crowther.

Leander’s final win came for Sam Twine, Tom Jeffery, Chris Ray and Edward Gleadowe in IM1 coxed fours where Sam Royston steered his crew to victory more than 40 seconds clear of second-placed Tideway Scullers.



This Saturday marks the occasion of the Fours Head, which gives our new recruits and established athletes the opportunity to show their mettle over the Championship Course on the Tideway. Our crews will boat at 12.30pm from British Rowing headquarters in Hammersmith, and the race itself begins at 1.15pm.

Leander crews are as follows:



Back To Top